County Tax Assessor-Collector honored by Texas DMV


The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles recognized Karen Lane, Madison County Tax Assessor-Collector, with a bronze award in the department’s Performance Quality Recognition Program for “exemplary customer service and going above and beyond in providing vehicle title and registration services.”

In a press release Wednesday, the Texas DMV listed seven Texas counties and their respective tax assessor-collectors as high achievers in customer service.

Gold recognition went to Linda G. Bridge of Bee County and Larry Gaddes of Williamson County. Silver was awarded to Cheryl E. Johnson of Galveston County and Mary Ann Waters of Grimes County. Joining Lane in bronze recognition were Kim Rinn of Austin County and Ellen Contreras Shelburne of Waller County.

“Texans expect and deserve exceptional and efficient customer service,” Texas DMV Executive Director Whitney Brewster said in the release. “This well-earned achievement is something counties and their residents should be proud of.”

The Performance Quality Recognition Program is a voluntary multi-level recognition program available to all 254 county tax assessor-collectors. To qualify for bronze, a county must have achieved the following:

* The county tax assessor-collector has completed the oath of office

* Maintain required bond amounts

* Remit registration fee collections on time

* Remit motor vehicle sales tax and penalties on time

* Charges only fees allowed

* Contact Information Provided to Texas DMV

* Have a fraud, waste, and abuse prevention policy

* Staff required to complete non-disclosure agreement for Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA)

* Dedicated county tax assessor-collector office website

* Compact with citizens

* Commitment to training

* Maintain accurate RTS and Texas DMV eLearning user access

The Texas DMV is a state agency created in 2009 as an offshoot of the Texas Department of Transportation.