Early voting started


Early voting began Monday, Oct. 22, for the 2018 November General Election.

At stake in this year’s vote is the U.S. and state representative positions, a U.S. Senate position currently held by Ted Cruz, many judge positions and the Texas governor and lieutenant governor.

At the local level, there are candidates for a handful of positions; however, most races were decided in the primary election, as only Republican candidates filed for those position.

There are five candidates for the North Zulch School Board as well.

While voter turnout in non-presidential elections typically is low, this year, given the political climate, may be different.

Madison County Election Administrator Earl Parker said that for this election, he has had 320 requests for mail-in ballot; in the past, the most he ever had was 240.

Parker said that in talking with fellow administrators, that trend of being up is holding in other counties as well.

To vote early, visit the polling places from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Madison County Courthouse, 101 W. Main St., Madisonville, and at the North Zulch ISD Bulldog Lounge, 11390 Fifth St., in North Zulch.

Early voting ends Nov. 2.

On Election Day – Nov. 6 – polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at:

•Midway Community Center, 5612 School Loop, Midway

•Elwood Baptist Church, 14527 OSR, Midway

•Courthouse Room 108, 101 W. Main St., Madisonville

•North Zulch ISD Bulldog Lounge, 11390 Fifth St., North Zulch

•Sand Prairie Baptist Church: 12652 FM 1452 West, Normangee

•Courthouse: District Courtroom Room 216, 101 W. Main St., Madisonville

For information on voting, ballots or voting locations, call Elections Administrator Earl Parker at (936) 349-0132.

Local candidates in the 2018 election, all of which are unopposed, include: Hal Ridley, District Judge; Brian L. Risinger, District Attorney; Tony Leago, County Judge; Rhonda Cook Savage, District Clerk; Susanne Morris, County Clerk; Judi Williams Delesandri, County Treasurer; Carl Wiseman, County Commissioner Precinct Two; David Pohorelsky, County Commissioner Precinct Four; Jon Stevens, Justice of Peace Precinct One; Steven Cole, Justice of Peace Precinct Two; and Kevin Counsil, Republican Party Chair.

All unopposed candidates ran on the Republican ticket in the March primary election.