Madison County among nine counties declared disaster by Gov


Madison County joined eight other counties on a Gov. Greg Abbot-issued declaration of disaster for the wave of storms that have blanketed South Texas since Friday.

Wednesday’s declaration also included Cherokee, Freestone, Houston, Leon, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Shelby, and Robertson counties.

“As a result of severe weather over the weekend, Texas is taking action to ensure those impacted have the resources they need to recover as quickly as possible,” Abbott said in a press release. “I thank all our first responders and local officials on the ground in these communities for their efforts to assist fellow Texans in the aftermath of these storms.”

Madison County and others faced raging storm and tornados over the weekend.