Voter turnout up and red


While most of the local races in the 2018 general election were decided in the March, Madison County voters still turned out in force on Tuesday to cast ballots in the remaining state and national contests.

The voter turnout was 52.14 percent, or 3,854 of 7,382 registered voters. The majority of votes were cast for Republican candidates; straight-party votes were 3 to 1 in favor of the GOP.

Madison County Election Administrator Earl Parker said the voter turnout in this election was the highest in his 10 years in the position, which previously was only 44 percent.

In the race for U.S. Senator in Madison County only, incumbent Republican Ted Cruz garnered 3,032 votes to challenger Beto O’Rourke’s 778. Cruz held only a slim lead statewide as of 8:30 p.m., with only early voting totals listed.

For U.S. Rep District 8, incumbent Republican Kevin Brady picked up 3,045 votes to challenger Steven David’s 730. Those totals are for Madison County only; the district totals were not in as of 8:30 p.m., but early vote totals show Brady with a 3-1 lead.

Madison County also came out in force for incumbent Gov. Greg Abbott, incumbent Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick, and incumbent Attorney General Ken Paxton, all with similar 3-1 margins.

In the state races affecting Madison County, incumbent District 5 Sen. Charles Schwertner, the Republican from Georgetown, received the lion’s share of Madison County votes (2,966) over challenger Meg Walsh (776). The incumbent held a 10-point lead in early returns.

The Democrat candidate Jason Rogers picked up 717 Madison County votes to incumbent Trent Ashby’s 3,096 for state representative District 57. Early results throughout the district show Ashby with a 4-1 lead.

In the North Zulch School Board races, Becky Wilson received 348 votes to Rodney Murphy’s 257 for Position 2; Steve Diserens received 338 votes to Karl Radde’s 266 for Position 3; and Tammy Gilbert in Position 4 and Brian Baker in Position 5 each ran unopposed.

For the rest of the local races, all candidates had registered as Republican, with no Democratic challengers.

Local winners in the 2018 election, all of which were unopposed, include:

•Hal Ridley, District Judge;

•Brian L. Risinger, District Attorney;

•Tony Leago, County Judge;

•Rhonda Cook Savage, District Clerk;

•Susanne Morris, County Clerk;

•Judi Williams Delesandri, County Treasurer;

•Carl Wiseman, County Commissioner Precinct Two;

•David Pohorelsky, County Commissioner Precinct Four;

•Jon Stevens, Justice of Peace Precinct One;

•Steven Cole, Justice of Peace Precinct Two; and

•Kevin Counsil, Republican Party Chair.

The election results are unofficial until canvassed by the Madison County Commissioners’ Court.