Frederick recognized for leadership


Madisonville High School senior Camryn Frederick is on a mission.

As a talented volleyball player, the reigning Madison County Fair Association queen and an FFA superstar, the college-bound senior was recently one of 10 high school students to be awarded the prestigious Ford Leadership Scholar designation.

Frederick was recognized by her peers earlier this month at the seventh annual Ford Leadership Scholars Banquet in San Antonio. Just a couple of weeks later, the teen showcased her proposal “The Fair’s Fair Share,” a pitch for upgraded restrooms at the Madison County Fairgrounds.

Humble as ever, Frederick doesn’t seek attention or accolades.

But the Ford Leadership Scholars program is a pretty big deal, points out MHS ag science teacher Lynita Foster.

Criteria for selection into the program focuses on six characteristics of leadership: action, relationships, vision, character, awareness and continuous improvement.

According to a press release issued by the Texas FFA Association, more than 200 FFA members applied to be a part of the program through a process that included an extensive online application, exam over an assigned leadership text, telephone interview and a day-long behavioral interview.

“Fostering effective, visionary servant leadership is vitally important to the future of our state and nation. I believe the Ford Leadership Scholars program provides a unique opportunity for FFA members to develop their potential to lead a life of influence and for the FFA to create a legacy of leadership for communities across Texas,” said Texas FFA Executive Director Tom Maynard.

The Ford Leadership Scholars program provides an intense hands-on leadership development experience through apprentice-type scenarios, interaction with nationally-recognized leaders and projects to be completed by student in their respective communities. The program is funded by an endowment established by the Ford Motor Company and Texas Ford dealers. Each scholar also receives a $1,000 academic scholarship.

The Texas Ford Leadership Scholars class of 2015-2016 included:

  • Taylin Antonick, Henderson FFA
  • James Mismash, Waxahachie FFA
  • Lyndi Luttrull, Decatur FFA
  • Camryn Frederick, Madisonville FFA
  • Laney Mosley, George West FFA
  • Reginald Lane, Bridgeport FFA
  • Katherine Marie Fazzino, Rudder FFA
  • Brent Vacek, East Bernard FFA
  • Kaylynn Welch, Buna FFA
  • John Callan, Jacksboro FFA

The Texas FFA Association is dedicated to making a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The organization has evolved from focusing primarily on production agriculture to a broader-based encompassing organization that addresses the needs and interests of students in urban and suburban schools in addition to the rural communities.